Dirty Princesses

A Game about Expectations and Danger

What’s on the cards? November 2, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — bullbar83 @ 7:15 pm

The ideas about using cards instead of dice have been slowly floating around in my brain, so here are some of the thoughts I’ve had about that.

I really, really liked the suggestion about removing the King and having the Queen as the highest card. It makes too much sense and meshes too well thematically to ignore. I’m thinking maybe I can take the route of having the suits assigned to the stats? So you get bonuses when you play certain combinations of certain cards in line with the stat you’re trying to use? And then your traits and such will get assigned a number and you draw that many cards and get to play them when it’s relevant. Pretty simple stuff, but simple works best sometimes. So I need to figure out a basic card resolution system and throw it at some players during the week.

I’m thinking that perhaps Queens can be played to pretty much automatically succeed at whatever it is you’re trying to do, but the cost is that you move one step closer towards the endgame mechanics. Perhaps. But then how does that tie into the whole ‘traits of the Queen relating to the trials of the Princesses’ angle? Because I do still want to keep that angle.

 

Actually y’know what? I’m going to playtest with the dice system I’ve got first and see how well that works. Then I can see what direction I need to move in, especially if I want to use cards.

 

2 Responses to “What’s on the cards?”

  1. Andrew Says:

    I like the idea of the Queen as a trump card. Maybe the suit of the Queen can reflect her mood as well.

    • John Reid Says:

      Yes! The Queens are a great idea – letting the mechanics remind all players of the importance of the Queen.

      Good thinking.


Leave a Reply

